Tampa Bay Film Reviews. Independent Films, filmmakers, production companies, publications, film festivals, events, and more!
Featured Film 1Featured Film 2Featured Film 3Featured Film 4Featured Film 5Featured Film 6Featured Film 7Featured Film 8Featured Film 9Featured Film 10Featured Film 11Featured Film 12Featured Film 13Featured Film 14Featured Film 15Featured Film 16
Films - News - Blog - Media - Reviews - Risks - Scams - Auditions - Jobs - Features - Resources - Contact
Tampa Bay Film - Reviews - Film Festival Reviews - Halloween Horror Picture Show 2013 -

TAMPA BAY FILM

FILM FESTIVAL REVIEWS

PREVIOUS REVIEW - TAMPA BAY FILM FESTIVAL REVIEWS - NEXT REVIEW

Halloween Horror Picture Show 2013 Review Sections
Forward recap: The demise and the rise of the support of independent film in Tampa Bay. 01. Forward recap: The demise and the rise of the support of independent film in Tampa Bay.
The Gay and Lesbian Film Festival and Shelby McIntyre’s UnBanned. Propaganda? 02. The Gay and Lesbian Film Festival and Shelby McIntyre’s UnBanned. Propaganda?
Supporting independent film in Tampa Bay. 03. Supporting independent film in Tampa Bay.
Halloween Horror Picture Show 2013 Review. 04. Halloween Horror Picture Show 2013 Review.
Meet and greet at the film festival Lobby for the Halloween Horror Picture Show 2013. 05. Meet and greet at the film festival Lobby for the Halloween Horror Picture Show 2013.
The Halloween Horror Picture Show 2013 Film Festival Event Scorecard. 06. The Halloween Horror Picture Show 2013 Film Festival Event Scorecard.

Halloween Horror Picture Show 2013

Supporting independent film in Tampa Bay

PREVIOUS - START - NEXT

Halloween Horror Picture Show 2013 At any rate, I’m getting off topic, but that’s how I feel about it. They do not help their cause when they alienate the audience which is not a part of the choir whom they are preaching to. I don’t think that the gay and lesbian film festival supports local independent filmmaking, either, and that’s a problem.
We need to stop selling out independent film in Tampa Bay! We need to stop taking the easy way out. We need to stop fighting among ourselves and support each other (and although I did not do anything wrong, nor did I start anything with anyone, I am working toward overcoming my differences with some people). We also need to run the troublemakers out of the market, because they are no use to anyone, including themselves, and undermine any potential independent film community that some of us are truly working on establishing (I am far more than just words. I am sincere about this, unlike some of those bastards out there exploiting the good name of independent film, using people, and who are only out for themselves).
We need to work on making independent film in Tampa Bay something worth talking about and respecting, and on exporting films instead of importing the competition of independent filmmakers.
In my opinion, the Gasparilla International Film Festival (I hate that name, as it rips off Gasparilla, in my opinion, a Tampa Bay tradition, and it is not original at all. I grew up here in Tampa Bay and am proud of my local community, and doing something with branding which, in my opinion, rips off the Gasparilla name and tradition rapes my fond childhood memories of attending the Gasparilla parades with my family. Thank you SO much for disrespecting and exploiting my childhood, and a Tampa Bay tradition, you unoriginal and creatively-bankrupt bastards!) and the Sunscreen Film Festival do not support independent film in Tampa Bay, and that is just..... Sad.
Independent filmmakers need to give those film festivals something to support! Most importantly, they need to, themselves, support film festivals which support independent film!
This is why true independent film festivals are important, and why seeing the return of the Halloween Horror Picture Show is great.
In 2009, when it was clear that the Halloween Horror Picture Show was not returning, I started tinkering around with the idea of small film festivals which supported independent film, including underground film festivals, which is a concept which took on a life of its own (more about that, shortly, as I did invent the concept of underground film festivals, locally). As a protest about the HHPS not returning, I came up with an inexpensive “film festival in a car” concept called the “Halloween Drive-In”, and everything was set. The catch, however, was that you needed four people to pull it off, and the cancellation threshold for such a film festival was low. With the Halloween Drive-In, all three of my participants cancelled at the last minute, and I could not pull off a film festival in a car with just myself.
So, this underground film festival was kicked around for a few years, and never happened. At least I acquired a lot of really good horror DVD’s from it (and it was ready to go on October 10, 2010; 10/10/10. My friends cancelled at the last minute, and that is why I could not do it; it is the ONLY reason that it did not happen).
Recently, a film festival in Vancouver bought the domain name for Halloween Drive-In, and I can no longer even call it that (although I always thought that the hyphen in “Drive-In” was awkward, the reason that I did not have the domain name before they bought it). Although I am not happy about it, I’m sure that I will come up with something better to call it. I always do.
At least my heart was in the right place, and that horror film festival in a car underground film festival WILL eventually happen, and I’m thinking in October 2016, SEVEN years late.
Of course, with the Halloween Horror Picture Show now back, the original inspiration for that horror film festival in a car is no longer there, but there are many other reasons to pull it off, including showing support for independent films, as well as proving that film festivals don’t have to be pricey, pretentious affairs. Also, and mark my words, such a film festival will be really, really cool. You’ll see.
Around that time, in 2009, I also came up with an underground film festival where a group of industry peers and people representing the target market of independent films would gather at any place, such as a living room, and have a private independent film screening and group peer review of those films, kind of like a watch party with a lot of opinions expressed. Unlike a watch party, though, this underground film festival, like the others, would be covered like an ordinary film festival event, however, so the cost-effectiveness goes way up as far as promoting, and supporting, independent film. Covered after-the-fact, such a film festival could go toe-to-toe with even the largest film festivals.
This underground film festival, originally called the “Tampa Bay Film Review”, eventually became the Sunburn Film Festival, and it will begin in 2016, with several private screenings of independent films and group peer reviews of those films a year. The Sunburn Film Festival is the flagship underground film festival event series for Tampa Bay Film, and, while I understand that the Sunscreen Film Festival may not be thrilled about the name (it was, after all, a direct F.U. to Sunscreen the same way that Slamdance was created in protest to Sundance), it was never intended to compete directly with Sunscreen, nor was it intended to take anything away from their branding. It was also not intended to confuse anyone, which should not even be an issue because it will not be marketed as a public film festival. Sunburn is a small, private film festival, and Sunscreen is a large, public film festival. Sunburn also has disclaimers all over the place explaining this.
The irony with Sunburn, though, has nothing to do with Sunscreen. It has more to do with Guzzo’s Coffeehouse Film Review and the Tampa Film Review, which were monthly film festivals which ended in 2009. You see, I originally designed the flagship monthly film festival (NOT an underground film festival, which is different) of Tampa Bay Film, the Tampa Bay Film Showcase, to be a Tampa Film Review killer, and that’s not what happened, or what resulted. You see, something like the Tampa Bay Film Showcase takes substantial resources to pull off month after month with consistency, and requires sponsors. As a result, the Tampa Bay Film Showcase was delayed over the years.
Now scheduled to debut in a few years from now, the Tampa Bay Film Showcase monthly film festival and professional networking event series is the backbone of all of the large, public film festivals and independent film events of Tampa Bay Film, and it will be used to screen and support independent films, as well as for professional networking. The Tampa Bay Film Showcase leads into the other film festivals, as well.
The irony with the Sunburn Film Festival, being a tiny, scrappy, private film festival which can be mobilized and executed in less than a week, and with little expense, is that it may very well be the Tampa Film Review killer that the Tampa Bay Film Showcase was supposed to be. The Sunburn Film Festival is more cost-effective, as well as more effective, than the Tampa Film Review ever was, and will be much more efficient, as well as superior in every way. Considering that the Tampa Film Review was a PUBLIC monthly film festival which catered to a large audience, if I were the Guzzo brothers, I’d be embarrassed. Humiliated, even, and rightfully so.
Of course, although the Sunburn Film Festival supports independent film, some filmmakers will not like it. Why? Because it’s a peer group review, and the group will give honest reviews of the films which are screened. Some of those reviews will not be nice, and it is how it has to be.
Going back to the hiatus of the Halloween Horror Picture Show (and I promise that I am about to get to the actual review. It’s just that what I’m writing about now is important, and had to be included), I began to work on a horror film festival property, a public film festival, which would fill the void left by the departure of the Halloween Horror Picture Show because I feared that the HHPS was gone for good, and would not be back.
So, I created the Reverence Film Festival, which was named after an independent film which I worked on in 2001, as well as a short film remake set for production soon (the short film will be the centerpiece of the Reverence Film Festival, and the film festival property will be built around it). Inspired by Andy Lalino’s Horror and Hotties independent film festival and horror / exploitation fan event from early 2007 (and I loved how Chris Woods showed up at the Gasparilla Film Festival wearing a Horror and Hotties shirt, as it was the opinion of many that Gasparilla did not support independent film or independent filmmakers. It was like Woods was protesting, and it was really cool!), the Reverence Film Festival expanded upon that with my theme event technology to create the world’s most advanced, and possibly first, independent film festival theme event. Reverence is indeed unique, and it is a hybrid film festival with no peers, and no parity. Of course, the Reverence Film Festival is not intended to compete with the Halloween Horror Picture Show, and the event property was designed to support it if it ever came back.
This review is not about the Reverence Film Festival, however, and with that festival not due to debut now for a few more years, we have plenty of time to wait. It will be cool, and it will be worth the wait, but the Halloween Horror Picture Show is also cool, and this is what this review is about.
Welcome back, friend!

NEXT: Halloween Horror Picture Show 2013 Review.

PREVIOUS - START - NEXT

PREVIOUS REVIEW - TAMPA BAY FILM FESTIVAL REVIEWS - NEXT REVIEW

07/30/14/1318 - 08/20/14/1110 - 08/24/14/0400 - 09/09/14/1305 - 09/11/14/1501 - 10/16/15/0504 - 10/23/15/1704

TAMPA BAY FILM

The voice of Tampa Bay independent film.

© 2013-2015 Passinault Industries LLC. All rights reserved.

 

Tampa Bay Film - Films - News - Blog - Buzz - Media - Interviews - Reviews - Risks - Scams - Auditions - Jobs - Talent Support - Features - Tutorials - Scenarios - Resources - The Sunburn Film Festival - Contact

Legal Disclaimer - Terms of Use

Tampa Bay - The Tampa Film Review

Tampa Bay Film Online Film Festival - Tampa Bay Film Showcase monthly film festival and professional networking event series - Revolution Film Festival - Reverence Film Festival - Tampa Bay Film Conference - Sunburn Film Festival - Tampa Bay Film Community - Tampa Bay Film Commission

Revolution Class Web Site by Aurora PhotoArts Tampa Bay Photography and Design, a Passinault.Com company. Revolution Class 0001, commissioned 032313.1000 hrs. Fully operational 010015.0000.

Web Site Design by Aurora PhotoArts. Revolution Class site design by C. A. Passinault. Webmaster C. A. Passinault.

The branding “Tampa Bay Film”, “Tampa Bay independent film”, “Florida Independent Film”, “Tampa Film Revolution”, and the slogan “The voice of Tampa Bay independent film” are trademarked, even when not indicated in formats where the “TM” is omitted for the purposes of art direction and design aesthetics. The “Coffeehouse Film Festival”, “Reverence Film Festival”, “Sunburn Film Festival”, “Tampa Bay Film Showcase”, the “Tampa Bay Film Conference”, “Tampa Bay Film Community”, and other Tampa Bay Film branding and slogans are also trademarked, as are the terms “underground film festival” and “online film festival” pertaining to the Tampa Bay market. They may not be used without our express written permission, and all rights are reserved.
Records of our claims, creation dates, and ownership history are on file, and are documented; they cannot be disputed or ignored. Work on Tampa Bay Film and on our intellectual properties officially began in 2006, although the origins of our properties go back even further, and Tampa Bay Film officially launched on January 11, 2007, although this operating domain name is the third location of our web site, established in 2013, and it is not the original.
This web site has been designed from scratch to be conflict-hardened and effective in prosecuting conflicts, engineered from the lessons gleaned during the conflicts of our early years, which we won. It is designed to be resistant to being attacked and to fight and eliminate scams and unethical conduct in the independent film industry. As a Revolution Class site, it is the first 3rd Generation talent resource site and a late 3rd Generation web site; both descriptions representing different definitions.
Information presented on this web site are opinions unless specifically defined in writing, and it is not to be taken or used as advice. Use of this web site is at your own risk. You assume all risks and potential liability when attempting anything described on this site. We do not explain laws nor do we dispense legal advice; please research and be familiar with all state and local laws before attempting anything described on this site.

TAMPA BAY FILM SITE MAP

SITE UPDATE LOG

Please click the site update log link above for update information.

FILES REFRESHED ON SERVER
03/23/13/1200 - 06/07/14/1159 - 06/14/14/1556 - 07/26/14/1240 - 07/31/14/1014 - 08/01/14/0914 - 08/05/14/1338 - 08/24/14/2100 - 09/01/14/1502 - 09/08/14/1500 - 12/31/14/0812 - 01/08/15/1100 - 01/17/15/0927 - 04/02/15/1018 - 10/22/15/0229 - 10/31/15/0343 - 07/13/16/0244

© Copyright 2006-2016 Tampa Bay Film. All rights reserved.